Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: ESC & motor choices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2011, 11:08 AM   #1

Default ESC & motor choices

I am new to crawling but not to RC and just ordered my first crawler, a SCX10. I have a CC mamba max pro ESC and a traxxas brushless 3500 motor and was wondering if this would work for my SCX10. I have the castle link to adjust the esc. I will mainly be playing at my house, building my own obstacles and climbing on dirt piles.

Last edited by CMaD; 07-05-2011 at 07:05 PM.
CMaD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-05-2011, 12:01 PM   #2
RCC Addict

Great ESC, not so great motor if you want smooth low end. I run 13.5 (3300kv) in my SCX, nearly the same speed and still very smooth on 2s, 3s is smooth but startup speed is high. Something around a 17.5 is ideal for 3s, but stick to Sensored motors for crawling if you run brushless. I ran a outlaw (heavy advanced timing) 27t before the 13.5 and the brushless motor was smoother, stronger and faster with much less heat, both geared 13/87.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 12:14 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by indiana mudcat View Post
Great ESC, not so great motor if you want smooth low end. I run 13.5 (3300kv) in my SCX, nearly the same speed and still very smooth on 2s, 3s is smooth but startup speed is high. Something around a 17.5 is ideal for 3s, but stick to Sensored motors for crawling if you run brushless. I ran a outlaw (heavy advanced timing) 27t before the 13.5 and the brushless motor was smoother, stronger and faster with much less heat, both geared 13/87.
that's some good advice mudcat. im torn between the new wraith or the scx myself.

what are your recommendations for a ESC that i can use for either crawler?
Sixohh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 08:09 PM   #4
RCC Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sixohh View Post