Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Timing Changes & "Boost" on Brushless Motors

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2011, 10:08 AM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default Timing Changes & "Boost" on Brushless Motors

Hey folks,

I'm still pretty new to brushless motors and have a question. Right now I'm running a Novak Crawler 18.5T in my scaler and it's controlled by a Mamba Max Pro (on 3s). I only recently learned about timing advance settings or "boost" that is controlled by my ESC. So I experimented with adding ~22 degrees and it comes in at a pretty high RPM so it won't affect my low speed crawling. So far, I'm liking the added wheelspeed at higher RPM.

But I just learned that my motor comes pre-set from the factory with 30 degrees of timing. Should the timing be reduced to zero if I plan to run any advance? Novak's manual (http://www.teamnovak.com/tech_info/i...tor_timing.pdf) says not to, but is it safe to run additional timing on a motor that has 30 degrees of timing already?

Can someone help shed some light on this, please?
Tommy R is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-14-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I'd leave it. Brushless motors need a nice chunk of timing to run well, they don't like to have zero or very little timing(the zero mark on the can is probably not the real zero point as well).
Stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 10:54 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

welcome to "cheat mode"!!! Yea, i was wondering the same thing and from what i've read and been told, leave the motor as is and mess with the ESC. When i ran mine with a ton of advanced timing (thru the ESC) my esc and motor would get hot. I know Erik Delux has been running a fan on his motor because he runs cheat mode all the time on his losi CC.
concretejungle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 11:12 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper