Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Battery drainage

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-2012, 04:25 AM   #1

Default Battery drainage

Hey guys I'm new here, also I'm new to electric rc crawlers. I have search for a couple hours now and can't find my problem.
Was out crawling today with my lnc and my friend with his mk42 moa
We both run 4600mah battery. His lasted a good hour and I went through two 4600mah battery in 40 minutes. I can't see how a moa crawler doesn't use more battery over a single motor crawler.
I think it's my servo. I run a savox 277oz servo.
I read a bit about a Bec. As far as I see i don't need a Bec because my servo gets plenty of voltage. The servo drains to much battery, which my motor ends up with no power. Is the way to equal the voltage to the motor and servo, instead of the servo taking all the voltage?

Cheers
R1Buggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-2012, 07:15 AM   #2
RCC Addict

Default Re: Battery drainage

First on the runtime, your worm drive axles eat power, still that sounds a little short. Are your batteries NiMh or Lipo? Is your ESC set to Lipo?

You do need a BEC. It's a amperage thing, not voltage. The one in your ESC only puts out like 1 amp at five volts, your servo needs more. Without a BEC the ESC will drop power under hard steering.

The stock motor is a weak throw away unit that isn't helping either problem. I think they stall out every time the tires get traction.
indiana mudcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:50 AM   #3
Proverbial threadkiller

Quote:
Originally Posted by R1Buggy View Post
The servo drains to much battery, which my motor ends up with no power. Is the way to equal the voltage to the motor and servo, instead of the servo taking all the voltage?