Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: How much truck will my brushless haul?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2006, 11:42 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default How much truck will my brushless haul?

I picked up and AXI 2808/20 brushless and a kontronik Jazz 40-6-18 speed control for a fairly reasonable price. My question is: will this dinky little motor haul my nine pound Maxx crawler around? This is my first brushless setup, so I have very little experience with them. My truck still has stock maxx tires and I am currently running a 76T spur. I can't use a 9T pinion with this motor since it has a 4mm shaft and I rather drill a pinion than turn the shaft down (resale value, in case it won't work.) Is it worth my time to fab a motor plate and drill a couple pinions or will I just be disappointed and wish I had stuck with lathe motors?

Don't flame me too bad. I'm new at this. Thanks for the help.
jsudar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-10-2006, 11:59 PM   #2
Rock Crawler

It should work. All I know is try it. Let some of the other guys post before you try it though. I would be safe to beat it will work though. Only way it aint gonna work is if its for a 1/18 scale r/c.
John Deere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 12:17 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

After reading the brushless tutorial thread again, it sounds like some of you are running some fairly heavy rigs with the HH revolver and the mamba. Since my kontronik speedo is rated at 40 amps and the mamba is 25, does that mean I will be okay if the motor is a little overworked?
Old 08-11-2006, 05:48 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I've got a little Park 400 in a 7-pounder, and it barely gets warm. The Mamba's not working hard, either, on 8 cells. You should have no trouble at all. Drill the pinion and let it rip.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2006, 11:59 AM   #5
owner, Holmes Hobbies LLC