Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Matched Motors on MOA rig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 09:56 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Matched Motors on MOA rig

I am having some thought on Motor for MOA rigs. At the moment, it seems everyone is running speed matched pair motors (identical) on their MOA rig.

Has anyone try running different motor on front and rear?

I was thinking these 2 motors work quite differently, the rear one for drag brake, and the front one to find traction.

If the front end uses a smooth motor like 5 slot one so with its smooth start up it will allow a smooth dig action and should make difficult climb a bit easier.

At the rear a big 3 slot 10mm Comm with XX stiff spring to provide strong drag brake.

I am keen to try as currently on my Pro rig, I have 2 HH torquemaster 35T and I have a HH crawlmaster 16T armature so if I swap out the front 3 slots with a 5 slots, I can sort of speed match them using my lousy motor checker by adjusting the timing... Even they are out by a small bit, it does not really matter I guess as long as the front is slightly faster.

Has anyone try this before? How does it goes?
Colgout is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-22-2013, 10:32 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Matched Motors on MOA rig

I have not tried what you're suggesting, but I have done "mismatched" motors.
-Different winds front vs. rear
-Same winds but different mfgr's

I didn't do it for a performance gain, I did it because I had killed a motor and did a "quick fix".

Interesting idea you're looking at though.
Charlie-III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:38 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Wouldn't a smaller pinion in the rear do the same thing or similar to what ur talking bout?
winnerone23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:02 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave