Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: lathe motor maintenance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2006, 01:45 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default lathe motor maintenance

how do you take care of a lathe motor besides using the actual lathe?
i bought some comm drops, but being a motor newb, i have no clue how to use them.
can someone help me out?
GraTou is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-11-2006, 02:03 PM   #2
K_B
I wanna be Dave

I've never used comm drops, but if you don't know, comm is short for commutator. The commutator is the copper(?) part inside the endbell that makes contact with the brushes. So remove one of the brush springs, pull the brush out and put a few drops down inside the brush hood onto the comm.

I know that comm drops can make a difference when you're racing, I'm not sure about a slow speed application like crawling.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 02:35 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

comm drops aren't part of maintenance.
They are for "extra" performance.

I wouldn't use them. They glaze the comm and your brushes. The carbon will build up on the brushes even faster by using drops.

When you perform maint. on the motor, take out the brushes, clean them with a good comm stick or brush... clean the comm with the brush or stick as well. Replace brushes is worn and burnt. Spray out the entire can with motor cleaner until the fluid comes out clear. Put it all back together and oil your bearings.
DirkDigler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 02:37 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

You can also cut the comm when it gets worn. Keep in mind that every time you cut the comm, you reduce the diameter, which will net you higher RPMs.
Old 12-11-2006, 02:46 PM   #5
Sinking with the ship