Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Mamba Max concerns?!?!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2006, 10:18 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Mamba Max concerns?!?!

Well I finally got home from my tour (been gone since April pretty much), and had somewhat of an early Xmas opening all the packages from various suppliers. But enough of the rambling and now get to the point........
I am a newbie of sorts, and so this may sound odd and niave. I notice that the area of the PCB that is exposed where the battery, reciever, etc. connections are soldered to on the Mamba Max ESC, leaves especially the area on the back side of the PCB, exposed. I am concerned that if some thing/debris got wedged in that area it could cause an electrical short, especially if it is going to be mounted, to say an aluminum plate. Any suggestions as to what type of insulating material one might use that would also NOT hold moisture? Or has anyone come up with a solution? Or am I just being paranoid? Thanks, Kerry
Attached Images

Last edited by kerrywittig; 12-13-2006 at 10:21 PM.
kerrywittig is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-13-2006, 10:44 PM   #2
RCCRAWLER TEAM DRIVER

I have not worried about it but I also do not drive my super in mud/water if I can help it. If you plan on doing that type of stuff you can bag it I use rubber gloves and run the wires out through the fingers.
kris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 11:23 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

I'm in the same boat as you (no pun intended).I'm gonna stay as far away from water/mud as possible.

But part of my plan is to build small dimensional compartments for each electronic component ie. ESC/reciever/battery/regulators and really make the wiring and mounting of the components as neat, organized and sanitary as humanely possible. Very anal retentive, but.........