Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: custom battery packs

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-30-2006, 09:19 PM   #1

Default custom battery packs

being new to the hobby and doing my best to stay away from anything electrical most of my life i have very little experience soldering and such. that being said im looking to get some information and tips on building my own or i just may give up and buy one.

ive read about lipo and it seems that you get the same power in a smaller package, the only thing is the money to get a decent charger and such. so i think im going to stick with the nimh. currently im getting about 45mins of runtime and id like to stick with that if possible.

from what i have read cheapbatterypacks.com seem to popular and well recommended around here. what i dont understand is all the different types of batteries they offer. right now im using a battery i got for my rustler. but am having a hard time mounting it and really like this kind of setup.

heres what i currently got for a charger and battery
mobil1syn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-30-2006, 09:54 PM   #2

well if you want to mount your battery like that you will need to buy the cells, battery bars, solder, a soldering iron, the plugs (get deans plugs btw, MUCH better than tamiya plugs), and wire. it should be fairly easy to find a soldering guide/tutorial on google, just remember dont hold the soldering iron on the cell for more than a few seconds or it could damage the cell.
redrum_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2006, 10:09 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

We need more details about your truck.

But from what I've read your not comfortable with building your own batterys. I would deffinately have CBP build you a pack. Most of the time they can get it done for less than what the cells will cost you at some other place, and you'll end up with a well built pack.
Highmark is offline   Reply With Quote