Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: Servos seem sketchy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2007, 05:50 PM   #1

Default Servos seem sketchy

Hey guys,
I have two Hitech HS-645MG servos with Kimbrough servo savers in my TXT-1 that I have been having some problems with. I am fairly new to this but believe that I have set them up right (I tried to set them to neutral but they still needed some tweaking). Anyway, the wheels start off straight but as soon as the truck starts moving and turning the alignment gets all out of wack and the truck does not run straight or turn correctly. It's like these things have a mind of their own.
If I pick the truck up and turn the steering it's fine. What's the deal?
Any help on setting these servos up and the issue at hand is appreciated.
Thanks.
markja is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-31-2007, 06:06 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Loose the servo savers and see if that changes anything.
Kamikaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 08:16 PM   #3
TEAM MODERATOR

We had an old 645 laying around we would run as a spare or use it for mock up when building mounts. We called it " Ol' twitchy" While in the rig,you'd turn the Tx wheel and it would turn(as well as a 645 would anyway)and when it hit the steering stops,it would twitch back and forth a bit. When you'd let go of the Tx wheel to go back to center and drive straight,sometimes it wouldn't quite make it back to center. I always assumed it was the steering pot in the servo that was going bad. Could be the same with yours maybe if it centers one time but not the next.
Reflection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 08:25 PM   #4
Keep it real

I'm thinking it is probably the servo savers as well, I had a kimbrough heavy duty one on my tlt, and it would do just what you are describing.
Tanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 09:21 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave