Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Electronics

Notices

Thread: 55T 370 motor

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2007, 01:58 AM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default 55T 370 motor

I am working on a project that is smaller than the average 1/10 scale 4x4.
I am utilizing the axles and trans from a VMG mini giant (aka leo-x, etc,etc) and I have a question. would it be worth my time to try to find a 55T 370 motor, are they even feasible? i have looked at the gd600 as a gear reduction and while that is a solid source of tourqe and the obivious choice, space is at a premium while im trying to maintain as much of a "scale" appearance as possible. I have no knowledge of how to hand wind my own motor so my option would be to see if my lhs would do it or find a company on the web.
as always, all input is appreciated.
DOC
docsbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-17-2007, 01:48 PM   #2
K_B
I wanna be Dave

From what I understand, re-winding a motor isn't that difficult, but a smaller 370 might be a pain.

I used a Park 370 brushless in my VMG. PLENTY of torque and no gear reduction. I did keep the slipper gear in there because I'm pretty sure that motor could easily strip out the gears otherwise.

Although there's plenty of torque, it has a little too much initial wheelspeed, so I had to spend some extra time tweaking the Mamba ESC and dialing out alot of exponential on the radio.

I think the best combo would be the Park 370, a Quark 33A ProCar ESC and then dialing out the expo on the radio. The Quark speedo is MUCH smoother than the Mamba, so that, combined with very little exponential dialed in results in good low-speed throttle control.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 02:41 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper