Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > EnRoute Berg

Notices

Thread: DLUX Knuckles for EVERYTHING !

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
I wanna be Dave

Default DLUX Knuckles for EVERYTHING !

Now that the cat is out of the bag...

I have some pictures and some experience with a new Dlux knuckle / weight system from Dlux Fab.

I have had mine on the truck for a few weeks now and have about 20 (at least) batteries through them at 2 different comp locations and my back yard rock pile.

First... what they are:

They are knuckles that bolt on to any chub, and they are made of delrin, aluminum or brass. They have bearings for the king pins instead of bushings, they have two options for oversized knuckle bearings, and they have a weight system built in. They can be used with Dlux unis (bully or XR) and 300 cvds. They can be 8 degree or not.

Next... why they are cool:

I am using the Delrin version. The knuckles are big and beefy and the bearings at the kingpins eliminate all slop. They are made for almost maximum steering out of the Dlux unis and act as a steering stop to prevent binding from over-steering. The coolest part is that they are the knuckle weights.

The weight system:

Obviously, if you choose brass or even aluminum then the weight is mostly in the knuckle. No extra stuff required.

Delrin doesn't have the weight on its own. So in the lower part of the knuckle, there are pockets for derby weights. The face of the knuckle has threaded holes where the Dlux knuckle weight ring holes are. A brass ring... or half ring will hold in the derby weights. For more weight, you can use the thick brass ring half, and for even more weight you can use full rings.

Erik also sells steel rings. These can be added under the knuckle and each half steel ring weighs in at 2.5 ounces.