Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Spring steel

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 07:19 AM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default Spring steel

I am trying to find some to make leaf springs for a TLT. My proplem is I am not a metalirgest(?) and am having a hard time finding info. I'm not sure how to guess what lbs. rating I need.

I have been cruising the net and found a lot of sights that sell sping steel, I'm just confident on how thick of material to buy. Any thoughts or ideas would be a lot of help.
RD400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-2005, 07:32 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

I read online that the steel used in the steel strapping that goes around pallets and stuff being shipped on pallets makes good spring material. I have no experience with it personally, just read it somewhere.

-Jay
BigJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:31 AM   #3
R.I.P. Chip

Why not just buy Juggernaut springs?
jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:41 AM   #4
Ace
Rock Crawler

I've pondered this before. About the only way to cut it will be grinding wheel. You could shear it but you better have a good shear. Not sure about tin snips.

Personally I'd get thin stuff and stack'm like a real truck leaf.