Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Silly scaler roll cage question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2010, 10:34 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Silly scaler roll cage question

I have no way to do brazing whatsoever. No resources and no skill. I can however cut and epoxy things together just fine. One thing I am pondering, if I get that hard LR D90 body for my SCX10 to be, is cutting the roof off and putting a rollcage on it, with the obligatory external frame around the windshield.

Would this thing survive any abuse at all if I used 5ton epoxy on it instead of brazing? Please don't laugh.

My background is in RC scale boats and in sculpture so I know how to make things look good, not so much how to make them both look good and be durable. I can make some things durable but haven't had to do this before. I will of course be using steel rod of some sort for this project.

Thanks!
spacephrawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-29-2010, 10:45 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Nvm: I'm not all the helpful.

Try the epoxy... I think you'll have to use quite a large gob of it to work though and that wouldnt be pretty.

Last edited by DunkinMcNut; 03-29-2010 at 10:58 PM.
DunkinMcNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 03:14 AM   #3

Interesting idea, not so funny as it sounds though. You could make a roll cage for the chassis and test its strength first and see the viability of it before doing the shell. would be good to see how well it worked
Bustedstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 05:55 AM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I'd be very surprised if it worked. Brazing isn't that hard.
microgoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:20 AM   #5
I wanna be Dave