Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: 2 years out of the game - how things have changed!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 07:35 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default 2 years out of the game - how things have changed!

Its been 2 years since my last log on and have decided that its time to get back into it.
BUT - where do you start after all this time.
What was 'hot' is now old and out of date.
I dont even know whats considered good and what isnt these days.
When i left, i had just bought a Axial Scorpion - that was the hottest thing around in kit form

I do also have another crawler that i had been building for a couple of years previous to that, consisting of Clod axles (locked, CVD's etc) and some lame chassis that was an Aussie built "Champion" of its day (about 6 years ago) but i never found it to be that great.

So, the question that should not be asked:
What do i start looking at?
Always like the tube chassis but they arent really suited to Clod axles though.
Do i start from scratch, different axles (TXT or is there another item out there now?) new chassis, shocks etc?
Is the old (new release) Novak Rooster still up to the task?
Might need some new servos too, the old Ebay 24kg ones bit the dust long ago.
davway is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-2010, 07:58 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Man spend some time here and do some reading. If ya want a real comp rig, the axial rx10 just came out and berg axles are what has been winning. Check out those sections. If ya want to bash/trail/fun crawl the axial ax10 is still the standard. For a scale kit lots of folks love the axial honcho.
oldhippie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:07 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Default ...

IF you still have the axial, consider the Gatekeeper GC-3A Chassis & links kit from Duratrax. Its turnkey with the existing Axial, it will make the Axial do amazing things, and hang with todays other top rigs.