Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Active camber

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2010, 11:14 PM   #1
sim
Quarry Creeper

Default Active camber

Terranaut introduced me to Google Sketchup recently, so I've spent a few minutes playing with it. It's a bit rough and simple because I'm still new to the software.

Let me know what you guys think of this. Couldn't be bothered to draw the other side and the drivetrain but I think you get the idea. This is a BTA, so we're looking at the back side of the front axle. Or it could be the front, if you like, depending on which way you want the wheels to lean when turning.

Edit: Was sleepy and got my lefts and rights mixed up. We're looking at the front of the axles, if we want the rig to lean into the turn. If it's BTA, we're leaning away from the direction of the turn.

Last edited by sim; 10-11-2010 at 05:41 PM.
sim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-2010, 11:27 PM   #2
Tossin' Salad

The most obvious problem I see is that the servo horn would have to take a large amount of forces in many directions. This in turn will probably destroy that servo.

Casey
KC_JoNeS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 07:33 AM   #3
I wanna be Dave

What are you trying to accomplish with this?
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 09:56 AM   #4
20K Club

This has been done, and as long as you don't put it on the rear of a 2.2 you are fine. Search, road grader or something like that. A guy basically rotated the C's of and Axial axle on the rear of his rig. May give you some ideas. His idea was not legal in 2.2 FYI.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:50 AM   #5
RCC Addict

But on the front, active camber +steering would be legal. Go for it, but just letting you know, a normal servo will not handle this force. You will need to get creative.
danielk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 10:50 AM   #6