Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: chassis material???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2011, 03:31 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default chassis material???

I got some scrap 1/8" polycarbonate sheet today. Would it be ok to used as a comp chassis and cab? Or do you think its to flimsy? I've never built one before and am curious if it will hold up or flex to much.
Also got 1/4" delrin sheet for the lower links and skid plate also.
And will 1/4" delrin rod work as the chassis braces? thanks...

I did post this in tools and procedures but deleted it, cause i felt i probably put it in the wrong section. sorry..
asian195 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-07-2011, 03:51 PM   #2
Fan of wheelspeed

You can also use the plastic cutting boards. I made a chassis for my FOFF out of it. It's strong, cheep and easy to work with.
Hoosierdady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:56 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Isn't that a bit too thick?

Sent from my dang smart, smart phone using tapatalk..
Old 12-07-2011, 06:05 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

I think you will be fine using the polycarb.

That stuff actually isnt as flexible as you think, it may seem like it is in a big sheet but once you cut out your smaller pieces then it will be quite strong.
SMR 510RR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:09 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by SMR 510RR View Post
I think you will be fine using the polycarb.

That stuff actually isnt as flexible as you think, it may seem like it is in a big sheet but once you cut out your smaller pieces then it will be quite strong.
General polycarbonate, or specifically Lexan??

Polycarb is "OK" but can be brittle.
Lexan, which is within the polycarb family, is a MUCH better choice of material for crawler chassis and/or cabs.

I use 0.080" to 0.125" (1/8") Lexan for chassis & cabs in 2.2 comp rigs. Easy to cut & finish, rather durable.