Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Thunder Tiger Crawler Transmission Gear Mesh

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 03:12 AM   #1

Default Thunder Tiger Crawler Transmission Gear Mesh

Hello everyone,

I'm a heli pilot-turned crawler fan and am in need of some advice. While my experience in gears applies to larger scale helis, its not so good for this.

I recently bought the Thunder Tiger Crawler and after extensive searching (bing, google, etc., even asking on my heli forum) I can't find the answer I am looking for.

Problem: When I drive, sometimes there would be a clicking sound, like gears slipping. It especially occurs when I am encountering any level of resistance when pillow-climbing. As I have only driven the crawler for a literal few minutes, any damage to the gears I hope is minimal as I quit the moment it happens. It sounds like its coming from the transmission.

Solution: After reading the manual it mentions adjusting the gear mesh. However, it doesn't specify how to go about it. Does anyone here have any experience it reducing this issue, rebuilding the trans to function better, gear mesh adjustment, etc.?

Here's a link to the model I have:

Thunder Tiger CORP. -- TIGERÂ*CRAWLERÂ*2.4GÂ*S.C NO.6543-F

Its nothing fancy, and please don't give advice like 'buy something better'. I bought this purposefully to modify it. I'm a 'tweaker' and have to modify it, its in my blood. I just need to get a jump start on the specifics of this matter.
celticveil is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-2012, 08:17 AM   #2
Suck it up!

Default Re: Thunder Tiger Crawler Transmission Gear Mesh

Sounds like its probably the slipper clutch doing its job. Might just need to tighten it up some...

Didn't know TT even made a crawler...
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 04:42 PM   #3