Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Maxstone / R1

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2014, 08:47 AM   #1

Default Maxstone 10 / Gmade R1

Originally had this in the Gmade section but realized it's more a Maxstone on a Gmade R1 chassis.

New to the forums....my first post here.......I've been reading a lot mostly til now.

I put this together using a R1 chassis and the drivertrain, suspension and wheels from a Maxstone 10.

I've been running nitros for 10 yrs and have a brushless wide Pede and I just decided to try out crawlers. I didn't want to spend lots of money on a kit or a RTR crawler in case I didn't like it so I started out with a budget crawler such as the Maxstone 10......I liked what it was capable of doing right out of the box but the whole look didn't do it for me. I tried a truck body on it and it reminded me too much of a monster truck that would tip over a lot. So I found me a deal on a Gmade R1 tube chassis and swapped pretty much everything over from the Maxstone except for the side plates, battery tray, servo and motor.

Things I changed or did:
I cut the tread on the tires. Stock Maxstone tires didn't give me too much of a good grip.
Star cut the foams and added 3.5 ounces to each front wheel with stick on weights and added 2.5 ounces to each rear wheel.
For servo I'm using a Futaba S3305 high torque.
Motor is a Holmes Hobbies TorqueMaster Expert 27T
RX/TX is Spektrum DX2 which is what I use on my nitros too.
Battery is a Venom 2S 7.4v 3800 60C.
I cut and grind all the tabs off for the stock Maxstone diff guards that were on both axle housings so that they don't catch on anything while crawling.
I made use of the Maxstone diff guards by mounting one up front with the aid of some brace support that is attached to the R1 dash plate. Now my ECS is mounted under the front hood panel and the RX is mounted on the dash plate.