Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: What bearings do you run in wet condition?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2020, 06:19 PM   #1

Default What bearings do you run in wet condition?

I have no experience with stainless steel bearings yet but read that they are corrosion resistant. Anyone run them in their RC car or truck in wet conditions?

I'm aware that bushings are a good alternative but at higher speed they can wear out fast and put grooves on drive shafts and make everything sloppy.
usert_l is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-28-2020, 07:05 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: What bearings do you run in wet condition?

I have always ran factory sealed bearings.... The only time I find they rust is when I leave wet, muddy grass wrapped around the axle shaft, between the hex and the bearing. Otherwise never a problem.
lonleycreeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2020, 11:03 AM   #3
RCC Addict

The type of bearing is less important than proper maintenance after running in wet conditions. At a minimum you will need to run sealed bearings but even sealed bearings will require proper cleaning and lubrication on a regular schedule. A quick wash and dry then spray with WD40 will go a long way to extending bearing life.
Inspector86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 03:33 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Bushings have got a bad wrap...
For crawlers I see not one difference and I prefer them for less maintenance. I run run on all exposed areas for sure and they last a lot longer

Last edited by MAGNUMB; 11-07-2020 at 11:47 AM.
MAGNUMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2020, 09:13 PM   #5
RCC Addict

Ball.

BUHAHAHAHHAAHAHAHHA

I tend to use Fast Eddy Bearings. Just need to be sure to use compressed air and blow out the bearings as good as you can.

For crawlers. I gon't do much until I do maintenance or have to deal with a bearing...