Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > General Crawlers

Notices

Thread: Parts ??? Before Buying

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2007, 02:28 PM   #1

Default Parts ??? Before Buying

I have a gift cert for towerhobbies and I have made up my mind and I want to purchase the PTI 1/18th Goliath Rock Crawler Kit but I know it's not a RTR kit as things are needed to make it complete. So my concern is what exactly these things are as I want to get everything all at once rather than in separate orders or from multiple sites.

I am not a noob to the R/C world as I have had many nitro R/C's....however I am new to electric R/C's so please bare with me with my list of questions and I hope those out there with great experience and knowledge can share their input.

So here goes my list of parts that I think I need along with some questions or concerns if any on the parts.

1) 1/18th Goliath Rock Crawler Kit

2) Traxxas Titan 550 motor ( is this a decent motor for rock crawling or is there better at that price area??? )....( do I need one or two motors for the kit??? )

3) Hitec HS-5645MG High Torque metal gear servo ( just one since I will only do front wheel steering )

4) Traxxas EVX Speed Control ( is this worth it or should I go for just something cheaper, if so...which one )

5) Battery???.....which one?....I want to have long run times, with good voltage. Do I need two 7.2v batteries or just one high voltage battery with good mAh rating???

6) can one lipo battery work and is it safe for the Traxxas EVX Speed Control???.....I have a couple lipo batteries that are 11.1Volt 1500mah Output Constant: 23A / Output Instant: 30A..........I also have a couple of Integy NiMH small 9.6v 1400mAh batteries
Are any of these ok to use???......or refer to question # 5

Now I basically want to get whats needed to make it run. I already have an extra JR Racing XS3 radio with receiver.