Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: Harbor Models Smoke Generator

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2012, 01:32 PM   #1

Default Harbor Models Smoke Generator

Hello,

Well, here goes my first post...

I'm a total newbie with a big goal. I want to build a scale Dakar Scania Rally Truck! This includes putting a Tamiya mfu in it as well as a smoke generator (the big rig rally trucks in Dakar spit out an amazing amount of smoke) that works proportionally with the throttle.

I've discovered Harbor Models, a scale boat company that sells a magnificent smoke generator.

Model Boat Smoke Generator

However, it's meant to be used with 12 volts and it won't work with less, according to the store owner. He didn't know how to make it work with a 7.2 volt RC truck.

Anybody have experience making this smoke generator work in their scale truck? Other smoke generators?

I appreciate any suggestions you might have.

Thanks!
zwony is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-20-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
Rock Stacker

Default Re: Harbor Models Smoke Generator

Maybe it will run off a 3S lipo? 11.1v

A small 4S with a voltage regulator chip to drop it to 12v should work.
Dudeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 03:48 PM   #3
I wanna be Dave

Is it white/gray smoke or Black ?
hotwheels000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 06:14 PM   #4
Rock Stacker

from what i read in the description, it does run with the throttle and i don't understand why it wouldn't work if you hooked it up to the motor side of your esc.
1lowta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 07:34 PM   #5

It's white atomized water, not actual smoke. The esc is 7.2v and the unit takes 12v... That's the problem.
Old 02-20-2012, 08:20 PM   #6
Quarry Creeper

you need black smoke unless you are trying to recreate a scale blown head gasket i wouldn't mess with it
muddawg is offline   Reply With Quote