Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > General Scale Talk

Notices

Thread: RC4WD Chevy Blazer body... Help decide on a scale chassis.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-20-2018, 08:08 AM   #1

Question RC4WD Chevy Blazer body... Help decide on a scale chassis.

Hey guys, first post!
I'm fairly new to scale crawlers, but not new to RC Cars or RC in general. I raced 1/8th scale on road for HPI back in the day and have been heavily involved with RC since 1986. I actually worked for RCGroups (I know, I'm sorry if anyone want's an awesome story PM me!) and ran flyinggiants (giant scale airplane site) for almost 8 years. So I have a great background of RC and RC cars, just not in Scale trucks!

Anyways, I got bit by the scale crawler bug by getting a Redcat Gen 7 pro. It's a great truck and a fun one to drive, but now I want to go full on scale. I HATE looking at a lean body... SO I purchased a RC4WD Chevy Blazer body and will start the painting soon. I'm going with a "been in an Arizona desert getting sun beaten and wind blasted for years" weathered look and will be taking my time with it. (I live in Ohio, so the dark days of crappy weather and basement hobby time is setting upon us)

Since buying the body I have been going back and forth on what chassis I want to stuff under it. The obvious choice seems to be the RC4WD Trail Finder 2 chassis, as it looks really scale, I like size of the 1.5 wheels and the wheel base is correct with no mods.

But since a lot of you guys have probably built a ton of these rigs, am I missing some options that would be a good choice and not require to much body modifications? (I'd like to not chop into the body too much to fit a slightly larger wheel base.

I have been reading and researching all the usual suspects and it seems like a few come close to the proper wheel base and some don't at all.