Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > HPI Wheely King

Notices

Thread: easiest way to...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2007, 07:24 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default easiest way to...

I was just wondering how easy it was to make a WK into a comp crawler.
i am new to crawling with a 1/18 Nighlint. i was wondering what to do a 4X4 WK or a Axial AX10 SCORPION???
scorpion_king is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-02-2007, 09:08 PM   #2
RCC Addict

axel scorp= crawler(not sure if its comp-ready)
wheely king =wheely king but with some stretching of the WB and a new chassis it could easly become a comp-crawler
and you spelled nylint wrong

Last edited by Kranberry; 05-03-2007 at 08:44 PM.
Kranberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 12:11 AM   #3
RCC Addict

Just get the axial. The WK isnt marketed as a true rock crawler, its a general purpose/bashing rig, easily modded into a crawler. The axial scorpion is a crawler from the start. Why does this question even need to be asked? I think the search function should be made far larger so even noobs can see it!
dittohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2007, 02:46 AM   #4
Quarry Creeper

Exclamation

the axial IS a nice looking rig thats purpose-built, but there is much more required to get it up and running. plus, you may hate the hobby in a month (then you can sell it to someone here or on ebay for half price). if you are new to the hobby, go for the w.k. you can upgrade the electronics if you want to later.
heres a list of the stuff i did to mine in a few hours. with a few bucks, minimal tools & a little creativity you too can have a very capable crawler.

* made new links to get the wheelbase to 12 1/2 inches ($5.00 for 5/32nd drill rod and $7.00 for a bag of revo ends)
* new o.t.a.(over the axle) servo mount & upper link mount (free, metal i had)
* new rear upper link mount (free, i had the metal lying around)