Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Micro-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Waterproof micros!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2013, 09:26 PM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Waterproof micros!

Hey guys, thinking about waterproofing my trail trekker. I didn't see a specific thread and the how to forum is a mess. So Im thinking this can be the official waterproofing help thread.

My questions are this:
1. How do I waterproof my trail trekker? haha

2. Whats better: liquid tape or plasti-dip? and is liquid tape, electrical tape?

3. Im gonna need pictures and detailed writing cause this is my first time
Explanations wouldnt hurt either.
4. Do i really need to put grease in the axels or is just precautionary?

5. people keep saying waterproof the spindle on the steering servo but i have no idea what that is!

Thanks guys!
mathcanbefun is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-12-2013, 11:04 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Default Re: Waterproof micros!

Water Proofing Electronics its all the same techniques regardless of scale.
a quick summary of the thread is to use liquid tape or plasti dip only on plastic cases like a servo.if used on bare electronics it traps moisture which can eventually cause failure. for bare electronics like a decased esc use corrosionx or the appropriate potting epoxy. give the thread a read for more info
spoo76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:39 PM   #3

Remember, it is not just electronics affected by the water. Any metal parts will not be pleased with meeting water either. Water + bearings = Rusty bearing...
JeeperDarren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeeperDarren View Post

Remember, it is not just electronics affected by the water. Any metal parts will not be pleased with meeting water either. Water + bearings = Rusty bearing...