Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: messin with my mrc

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2009, 10:31 AM   #1

Default messin with my mrc

Well, I took my first small step into modifieing my mrc today. I relocated my battery to the front axle and moved the esc to the front of the battery tray. I also took my leaking RR shock apart, refilled it and bled it. This was my first time doing any of this, and I had way more fun working on it than I though I would, considering I work on big rigs for a living. Took it outside this morning and tested it out. It definately needs some weight in the rear end now. Now when I get the front wheels over a ledge, instead of the fronts spinning and the rear hopping around getting a little traction, its the other way around. Also, when descending a ledge, it hops forward and even flips over forward to much now. I also see what you guys mean about the servo savers being a pain now. That extra weight of the battery is a little to much for it. I tried and tried when stock to get it to bind up and see it actually work, but never could. Now I can sit it on the side walk and see the servo saver work. Is the saver set up to break loose at the servos max torque capacity, or can i put the solid arm on and not worry about screwing my servo up right away? Also, can you guys give me some what of an idea how much weight to add to the rear end? should I add some to my front wheels too? Heres a few pics for you guys.

afoulk is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-2009, 11:28 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

You can tighten the Servo saver down a little to tighten it up a bit. The stock servos are fragile, and will begin to strip pretty quickly. I wouldn't run the solid arm on it.

Lowering your Center of Gravity will help more with the flipping over etc than adding weight, but definately adding weight to the wheels does help keep things lower too.