Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Newb issue and could use some advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2009, 09:30 AM   #1
RCC Addict

Default Newb issue and could use some advice

I am VERY new at this so excuse my ignorance at what will appear a very obvious question. Here's my set up so far.

TCS mini Edge Frame
3Racing High Clearance Links
RCBros Crawler Thread Aluminum Shocks w/ 55 weight shock oil
Some assorted recommendations by all of you

The issue (i think) is called torque spin. (again excuse my lack of knowledge) I have posted this video so you can see the exact issue:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=knXdF1fZQmE

The front right wheel, when given throttle lifts especially when turning. Any suggestions as to how to fix this? 4 Link? Different weight shock oil?

Also is anyone running these shocks having issues with the front shocks rubbing with the servo mount. Or anyone else running this frame having this issue.

I think it is simply an issue of too big shocks and a poor mounting location. Any suggestions?
TC09mini is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-01-2009, 10:21 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

Welcome.

Indeed, it seems you've a bit of Torque Twist going on. It's also getting to your rear right just a bit when reversing. I'm surprised to see it on the opposite sides, though, as TT with the MRC is usually seen with the front right and rear left. I've read about some weird things happening with high-clearance links; perhaps it's a combination of chassis, links, and overall setup.

I'm not knowledgeable enough yet to give you a definite, but in some cases...
-upper 4-links to go with the lowers, often helps
-stronger springs/spring spacers on the shock(s) experiencing the TT (in your case, obviously, the right rear)