Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler Brand Specific Tech > Heritage Crawlers > Losi Mini-Rock Crawler

Notices

Thread: Stock chassis weight

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Stock chassis weight

Hey so I'm designing a chassis for my MRC, does anyone know the weight of one side of the stock chassis? I'd like to compare it to my design so I can tweak thicknesses and material. Also I'm extremely new to crawling and RC in general so I'll be tossing up pics and specs of my drawings soon to get any feedback.

Another question: Is anyone familiar with the material that the stock chassis is made of? It seems like a type of aluminum composite to me, but I really don't know.
Getrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-22-2011, 09:38 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

Ok, I'll just have to pull my chassis off again and weight it. Here are some CAD pics of the basic idea I want. I love the idea of having lots of freedom for adjustability.

There are already some things that I will want to change about the design that help the holes between the two separate parts match up better or even allow the shock mount add ons to mount in a rotated orientation.

Anyone have any input/criticism or things they wish that they had on their chassis?

Old 03-23-2011, 10:25 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper

looks good but what about opening the middle up so u can keep it narrow
thomass14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 11:16 AM   #4
Pebble Pounder

Good suggestion, thanks I'll implement that. I didn't really like the cutouts that were on there anyway. I'll try to get some more pics up this evening when I get a chance to change it. If I do cut out the middle should I leave the top open also?
When I get finished with this I'll probably just leave the plans open source for anyone that wants to make one, so keep the suggestions coming.
Old 03-23-2011, 01:13 PM   #5
Quarry Creeper