Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > Scale Rigs General Tech > Micro Scale Rigs

Notices

Thread: Panda Hobby Tetra; Fried ESC/TX? Golden upgrade ticket?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2020, 08:09 PM   #1

Default Panda Hobby Tetra; Fried ESC/TX? Golden upgrade ticket?

TL;DR -
Fried ESC in X2 truck;
Can I put AXIAL AE-6 ESC/TX combo in?
Would it crawl better with it?
Would the rc4wd R5 v2 tranny plug and play?

--------

Hi everyone! After trolling these forums and reading all the amazing advise and stories, I joined up and have some questions. 1st post . I tried searching and wasn't sure to post in the newbie section or not, but here goes... Total newbie, so sorry if the questions are obvious or silly. Don't know much about electronics or RC.

My friend and I just purchased a couple of Panda Hobby tetra trucks (X2 and K1) for our 7 year olds (Leave my 1/10 Enduros alone! lol). They love them. Cool little trucks, little jumpy on the throttle though.

Unfortunately the X2 seems to have blown its ESC/TX combo. It has had about 4-5 batteries run though it in total. While out on the trail yesterday, the battery got to its end and cut off, kid came over to get the battery changed, and hit the throttle again to "show" it was flat. We heard a pop (like a stick snapping) but didn't think anything of it as we though maybe it was a stick (bush). Changed the battery, no forward throttle? Steering, lights and reverse all work fine. oh the tears that were had.

When we got home, tried the ESC/TX combo from the other truck, works fine. Damn. So looks like something up with the ESC/TX unit?

We were using 2s 800mah 7.4v Lipo, which had been run though a couple of times already and the other truck was using. The ESC seems fine with them, and the cut of worked on both trucks. Hobby shop guy and a couple of forums posts I've seem seems to indicate the ESC is compatible with Lipo. SO I don't think that is the problem.

Any ideas? or does that sound about right?