Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: difference in ni-cd and ni-mh

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default difference in ni-cd and ni-mh

hey everyone, im fairly new to the whole hobby grade rc stuff and have a battery question. i bought a new batery for my wheely king and it was an ni-mh. and asked for a charger at the same time and the charger she gave me said nicd only on it? is this charger safe to use with my new battery or should i get a new charger?

Eddie
flybynighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-2008, 12:20 PM   #2
RCC Addict

NiCad:
Charging

NiCd batteries can charge at several different rates, depending on how the cell was manufactured. The charge rate is measured based on the percentage of the amp-hour capacity the battery is fed as a steady current over the duration of the charge. Regardless of the charge speed, more energy must be supplied to the battery than its actual capacity, to account for energy loss during charging, with faster charges being more efficient. For example, the typical "overnight" charge, called a C/10 charge, is accomplished by applying 10% of the batteries total capacity for a period of 14 hours; that is, a 100Ah battery takes 140Ah of energy to charge at this rate. At the "fast charge" rate, done at 100% of the rated capacity, the battery holds roughly 80% of the charge, so a 100Ah battery takes 120Ah of energy to charge (that is, approximately 1 hour and fifteen minutes) The downside to faster charging is the higher risk of overcharging, which can damage the battery.[3]