Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Outrunner / Inrunner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2008, 10:42 AM   #1

Default Outrunner / Inrunner

Im new to crawlers and have a couple questions.

#1 What the difference between out/inrunner motors?
#2 This should start a debate, Mamba Max w/Holmes Hobbies Crawlmaster OR Novak Goat Crawler system?

I dont want to buy something Im going to have to upgrade in 3 months.

Note: I dont have any experience with the electronics mentioned. Ive done some reading on this site and these are the electronics that stand out for me. I will be using them in the Axial Crawler Kit. I am leaning also to the Spectrum DX6i radio.

Any info is appreciated.
WizzRacing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-21-2008, 10:55 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

If its for an axial you'll be far happier with the throttle control of an FX-R and a good 35-55T motor in that Axial. Brushless isn't the best choice for comp crawling. In fact you won't find many still running Brushless. Most have gone to the new Cobalt motors from HolmesHobbies cuz those are full torque and tons of wheel speed but still a solid linear control.

Also why a DX6? You only need 2 channels for the Axial, unless you run 4WS, but then you are no longer comp legal.
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2008, 11:15 AM   #3
Debunking old stereotypes

Quote:
Originally Posted by binaryterror View Post
If its for an axial you'll be far happier with the throttle control of an FX-R and a good 35-55T motor in that Axial. Brushless isn't the best choice for comp crawling. In fact you won't find many still running Brushless. Most have gone to the new Cobalt motors from HolmesHobbies cuz those are full torque and tons of wheel speed but still a solid linear control.

Also why a DX6? You only need 2 channels for the Axial, unless you run 4WS, but then you are no longer comp legal.