Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Dual purpose rig?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2008, 07:35 AM   #1

Default Dual purpose rig?

I'd like to say I'm not a newbie, as I was heavy into R/C about 20 years ago. But, after thumbing through the new RC car mags at B&N, I've come to the conclusion that I'm starting from scratch. Back when I was into this, the big upgrade was going to 6 cell 'hump' packs over 5 cell packs in Tamaiya buggies like the Frog.

Anyway, of all the 'new' trends I saw, crawling seems the most attractive to me. I've never been that much in to speed, and would rather have a technical aspect to my play. I also love to fab and modify. Combine these with the relative ease of finding crawling grounds, vs the big empty spaces needed for other venues, and I think its a winner.

All that being said, I'd like to have a cool, scale looking truck, that was good for crawling, but could also be used for tromping around in the brush, woods, snow, mud, etc. That has lead me toward the AX10...it would appear that perhaps a brushless setup (Novak Goat, maybe?), and a couple different pinion gears could get me a good happy medium.

Again, lots of this is new to me, so, am I on the right track? Any other suggestions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Toby
TobyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-20-2008, 08:43 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Welcome to the addiction, imho an ax-10 is a good choice as their is plenty support in the aftermarket for it, i own a couple, one is my comp rig, and the other is tuber very capable basher rig, i have 3 goat systems and can only say good thing about them, they can handle up to 7 cells and they have insane power, butter smooth control in the low end and great wheelspeed.
cartronicshn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 08:54 AM   #3
On the lookout for Rocks