Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie to Crawling

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2008, 06:56 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Newbie to Crawling

I'm not new to RC but I'm a total noob to rock crawling and have some questions. I am probably going to buy an Axial AX-10 Scorpion Kit Version crawler. Would a Hitec 645 be a decent steering servo to run since I already have it, I know in crawling its more about torque than speed? It will be controlled by an M8 w/ Spektrum. I'll most likely be using an Integy lather motor, which turn should I get? What ESC and batteries do you guys recommend? All my brushed ESC's are burned up so I will be buying new and I'm trying to keep on a budget. I have an Orion 3800 2S Carbon LiPO, would this work well in a crawler? If not what would be a better choice? What other mods would be good to do to this crawler?

Thanks in advance for the help guys!
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 12-13-2008, 07:31 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Yes, the 645 is a good starting point. If you need more power from it, you can always add an external BEC. The Castle Creations BEC works quite well.

Integy 55T is a good starting point. Wheelspeed and torque can then be changed through gearing.

I like the Sidewinder ESC. I have quite a few of them and they perform flawlessly. The Castle Link can be purchased for easy programming with your computer and will work on all other CC products.

That Lipo should work well. In fact, the mAh rating is probably overkill.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 07:37 PM   #3
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy4wdracer View Post