Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General
Loading

Notices

Thread: Cc bec ???

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2009, 03:54 PM   #1
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 57
Default Cc bec ???

I have seen these little blue units labled "CC BEC" 10 amp peak.

I see they limit the voltage. They say up to 25V in and 6 to 9V out. Where is this wired in, and why would you need one??

Thanks,
LR
Little Rhody is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-05-2009, 04:34 PM   #2
Rock Crawler
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CHESAPEAKE, Va
Posts: 553
Default

you wire it into your servo. it gives power to your servo so you dont have to run a servo pack. if u need more info try searching
4ONDFLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:01 AM   #3
Quarry Creeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Where there are no rocks.
Posts: 305
Default

Yeah there was some threads in the electronics section, maybe it was a sticky, but it had great pics and diagrams.
Ryan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 07:50 AM   #4
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan33 View Post
Yeah there was some threads in the electronics section, maybe it was a sticky, but it had great pics and diagrams.

Yah, I posted this in the electronics section, but the moderators moved it to the newbee section.

LR
Little Rhody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 06:56 PM   #5
On the lookout for Rocks
 
constantmotion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Monroe, Louisiana
Posts: 3,711
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Little Rhody View Post
Yah, I posted this in the electronics section, but the moderators moved it to the newbee section.

LR
They moved it to the Newbie section b/c you would have got flamed pretty hard in the Electronics section....this is question and has been answered many times.

A Battery Eliminator Circuit (BEC) is a little device that eliminates the need for a receiver and servo battery pack. It draws higher voltage from the motor batteries and drops it to a voltage level that is suitable for your receiver and servos. This is required in applications which draw high power for multiple servos or use more than 3S motor packs, as most ESCs with linear BECs are not designed to deliver enough V to power the high torque servo.

You wire it directly in to your ESC's battery connector and then plug it into your receiver. Yes, you do need one....to be able to turn those wheels when crawling.



Check this video out. JRH at Holmes Hobbies deminstates the power of the BEC

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32SNV...&cat=13&page=1
constantmotion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:12 PM   #6
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 57
Default

Ok, I think I understand this.

But I have a 3cell lipo, do I still need one? Also I am running the new JR super high torque 403 in oz, and the Novak goat 18.5 turn brushless motor and esc combo. Wont my 3 cell lipo, provide 12.6 volts to my servo via my receiver? or will the receiver drop the voltage??

If I dot run one, will I burn anything up, or will I just not have enough power at the servo??

Thanks for your help.
LR
Little Rhody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:18 AM   #7
K_B
I wanna be Dave
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 2,048
Default

The ESC regulates the voltage; not the receiver. The battery plugs into the ESC and the ESC plugs into the receiver and supplies around 5 or 6V of power. The receiver then feeds the power to the servo. If you ran 12.6V straight into a receiver, it would blow up or at the very least, it wouldn't run for very long before blowing up.

If you don't run the external BEC, you won't burn anything up, you just won't have enough juice, like you said, because the BEC circuit built into the ESC can't supply the amperage needed for those high torque servos.
K_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 01:36 PM   #8
Rock Stacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 57
Default

Ok,

So I need one. The wiring looks simple enough.


I just ordered one on line.

Thanks
LR

Last edited by Little Rhody; 01-07-2009 at 01:56 PM.
Little Rhody is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Copyright 2004-2014 RCCrawler.com