Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Axial SCX ordered, now what motor ?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2009, 11:24 PM   #1

Default Axial SCX ordered, now what motor ?

Hi Guys, great forum here.

I'm completely new to crawlers but have been in the RC car world for many many years. I currently own 3 HPI baja 5B's and also a 5T. I fancied a total change in direction with my RC builds and Rock Crawling was just the thing I was looking for.

After much deliberation, I went with the Axial SCX-10 for some general crawling and trail riding. I have also ordered a set of beautiful Darksoul Racing beadlock wheels and a Proline Bushwacker body for the build so I'm almost ready.

I haven't ran any electric R/C since the grasshopper back in the 80's so I expect technology has moved on a fair bit since then. I am looking for some decent torque and a top speed no greater than 5-6mph and would like your suggestions on motors, ESC's etc.

I am assuming that brushless motors will offer longer runtime than brushed? If so then I would prefer that set up.

Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
flake99please is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 04-14-2009, 02:17 AM   #2
Rock Crawler

i would say go with a 45t motor......
ElChupoCabre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 12:38 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

Brushless for crawlers is a thing of the past....A PHASE come-and-gone

No need for brushless....get a good 45t motor and run a good 2-3 cell lipo(2000 MaH and up) and you will get at least an hour of run time. A 35t might be good for a little more speed with the scaler.

Check out the Epic, Holmes or warrior motors...
nonstopboost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 02:25 PM   #4
Quarry Creeper

IMO, Id say prolly a 45-50t?
grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2009, 02:47 PM   #5
I wanna be Dave