Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Help with 1st crawler purchase

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 12:32 AM   #1
Quarry Creeper

Default Help with 1st crawler purchase

I am having a hard time deciding what to get. I would ultimatly like to build a Berg rig, but that is a little out of my price range for now. I have narrowed it down to 3 choices.

Axial AX10 Scorpion RTC
AXial AX10 Scorpion Kit or ARTR
Losi Comp Crawler

First off I have no experience with any kind of RC vehicle let alone a crawler. My problems are that I like the Losi, but I have been hearing that it is easy to burn up motors. And from what I can tell the design of the Losi being worm gear drive makes it necessary to have a higher torque motor than the other two rigs above. Around a 17.5 or 21.5t, which those motors are quite a bit more expensive as well as the ESC's and steering servos that go with them. So the price of that is adding up and I haven't even added the cost of the radio yet either. But the cost would be ok if I could be somewhat assured that I won't destory the motor or other electronics because I can only afford this with a bit of extra money I have and will not be able to afford to replace them immediately after my first few uses if I burn them out.

If I go with the Axial kit or ARTR I still have the expense of getting electronics but not nearly at the expese the Losi seems to be. The motors seem to need lest torque and will work with a 45 or 55t, which is considerably cheaper, as well as the ESC and Servos are cheaper as well. The thing that seems to be killing me is the cost of a radio. For a radio that can handle Dig they seem to be expensive unless I am looking at the wrong ones.