Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: what makes a clod a better crawler.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2005, 12:43 PM   #1

Default what makes a clod a better crawler.

Ok guys im new to the crawler stuff. Was in to the nitro stuff for a long time{t-maxx} so im very familar with the emaxx suspension and diffs, so i like that, i know that that shafty has more realisam but that aside what makes the clod better on the rocks. Is it the weightr of the motors on the axles? The lack of weight in the chassis lower COG? Whats the magic? Im going to build a crawler over the winter got rid of all me nitro stuff and starting from scratch, so im really torn on what platform to start with, going to do a tube chassis based on the bruiser chassis from posion spyder, Ive got a back ground in 1:1 rock crawling. Im not against the realisam of a maxx based but i want the best crawler for the money as well. I do know that the maxx is more expensive to build with tranny and all but even the guys on the maxx brd say the clod is the best crawler. Sorry for running on but you know how its, and one last question for now. How close are they on the rock is it night and day that the clod is that much better or is it just some guys opions, it just seems to be just so matter of fact that the clod is king? Thanks in advance for your guys help.
mentalfloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-28-2005, 01:12 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I personally like the maxx because of the diff clearance. And you can get alot of articulation out of them
or,crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:35 PM   #3
MODERATOR™

Low center of gravity. And the "Clod Stall" working in your favor.

If you aren't sure about the "Clod Stall" you can search for that term and find some stuff. Too much is bad, some is good.
EeePee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2005, 02:40 PM   #4
Adilynsdad too!