Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: first budget rig

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 05:47 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default first budget rig

I am a total newbie to rock crawling and have been following it for a couple moths now and would really like to get a crawler. I would like to get a full complete rig with everything i would like to get one i was looking at the Ax10 and the venom creeper, but im pretty sure that neither one come with everything ready to crawl right out of the box correct? and if so is there any crawlers that i can get that you guys think are good that are ready to crawl?
i am looking to spend less then 250 or so if i can.
thanks guys
jakedasnake92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
Quarry Creeper

I'm a budget minded crawler too, with two kids, I started out with what you have.

I'm still a somewhat of a noob, just started in spring and started with around $250,00. First ask yourself do you want to comp? If so look for a maybe a used axial on here, Buy a Star worth it, or post 30 messages and wait 30 days. Also check www.RCTECH.net, I found an axial RTR for $100.00, all it needed was batteries and a charger. If you go the new route then really look at the venom creeper for the money, you can find a inexpensive radio and reciever, a used traxxas TQ3 are cheap and work. For a charger check www.Hobbypartz.com, I got one and it works great no problems for me. Also check Novaks website they have a refurbished section for motors and escs.

We had a comp recently and we run a shaft only 2.2 and some guys had venoms and they crawled really good. The Losi MRC is a really good package deal. We run them also and I'm trying to save up for one of them too. If you can really save some money I would even consider the Losi NightCrawler.
Ghostkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 06:41 PM   #3
Rock Stacker