Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: help me decide

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2009, 09:12 AM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default help me decide parts for a AX-10

Hi all, new guy here, looking to get into Rc Crawling but a total newb so I'm looking for some help. I want a decent rig but would like to keep my budget in the $200 range, I have a 2 channel radio already (used it for a large scale RC project many years ago) but basically nothing else that would cross over to this project. I have no knowledge of Speed Controllers or Motors as my last project was gas powered. I would prefer a kit I have to assemble (I'm just a geek like that LOL) and I would like something of some quality even if it means breaking my budget a little bit LOL.

1. been looking at the Red Cat Racing RS-10, price is VERY attractive, I could be crawling for $160 clams. downside, I don't get to assemble it and if I beef it up with more power (wich I always seem to do) I'll blow the axles out of it. The questions for this unit, could the axles be upgraded down the road with heavier ones (this would probably mean a transfer case and driveshafts) and are the servos upgradeable (they appear to be another weak link from what I read)

2. been looking at the Venom Creeper, I can buy just the truck kit for $150 but it requires 3 servos, ESC, 540 motor, 7.2 battery and charger (I already have the radio) questions for this unit, do you have to buy crawling specific servos, esc and motors? if not do all servos, esc's and motors play nice together? why 3 servos? can I buy this truck and stay anywhere near my budget???LOL