Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Need help picking a ESC!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2010, 08:10 AM   #1

Default Need help picking a ESC!

Ok so here we go! I'm relatively new to crawling and I bought my first rig about a month ago. I have the Axial RTC and absolutely love it! One small problem I WANT MORE!!!!! I bought it with the plan to run it a while and slowly upgrade as I saw fit... I am ready to upgrade the electronics and need some help getting the best bang for the buck. I would like to get a new radio, receiver, ESC and BEC (if necessary) for around $250 to $300. Is this even possible? If so what are the brands I should stay away from and the ones I should look at? Any help at all would be awesome!
maloney is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-25-2010, 08:19 AM   #2
Quarry Creeper

Well you can find parts on here for a pretty good deal just go ahead and spend the $20 on a star to view the classifieds it is well worth it. But I think you could find the parts you want for around $300, a castle sidewinder is about $70 new, a cc bec is $20, then you could get something like the spectrum DX3E for $100 and it will come with a reciever then use the other $100 for a good servo and go ahead and get you like an integy 35t or 45t motor and you would be good to go.
landon4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 08:31 AM   #3
Rock Stacker

When I was looking at ESC's my personal choices were FXR or HH BR-XL. I ended up going with a combo FXR/45T. If I could do it again I would have gotten the pro handwound 45T motor combo. Most of the ESC are good just look at the future and if you will be running LiPo's. Some of the ESC's have limits on what LiPo levels you can use.
Entropy98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 08:43 AM   #4
Rock Crawler