Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Newbie needs help...lots of help

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 09:07 PM   #1

Default Newbie needs help...lots of help

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to rc crawling my only knowledge comes from some info on the RC Crawler mag and this AWESOME forum.

So I want to get into crawling competition but what is a good beginner setup that I can build into once I get experience?
I know there is 1.9 and 2.2 (super sounds wwwaaayyy too expensive for me!), also since I'm new I have no clue on motors, esc,bec, etc,etc etc, so maybe a RTR or RTC! will be better. It seems a Losi Mini Crawler could be the best bet for a 1.9 and maybe a Comp Crawler (or the nightcrawler that is a RTR) for the 2.2? Accordingt to some comments here the Axial trucks are also a good option but not that many hop ups available, so what else could work for me?

Also was reading about the twin MOA conversion for the comp.night crawler and it seems pretty sweet...once I get my feet wet on the sport and had a clue of what I'm actually doing and many many hours of rock crawling! But would this be something to consider for later on? is this mod legal for 2.2 competition?

Please please any help is appreciate it ! I want to hit the rocks asap!
snakemau is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 03-04-2010, 09:38 PM   #2
Suck it up!

Axial trucks have gobs of aftermarket parts!

What is right for you is what you can afford and what you want to do with it.

Just about any of the rigs you mentioned can work for a beginner and be modded to pro level.

Your best bet would be to take some time, look around the site, read the "sticky"'s that are on the top of each page, and learn a few things. There is a ton of info here, all you need to do is to tap into it.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 09:42 PM   #3

like duuuuuuude said get a axial there amazing