Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: aluminum axle assembly?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2010, 12:42 PM   #1

Question aluminum axle assembly?

Hello to all,

I'm new the r/c crawler world, but not to r/c. I'm a machinist, looking for a project to get back into r/c.

My question about axles: can I find a long aluminum MOA axle with NO mounting links installed, designed for building my own mounting points?

I'm looking for two front axle setups for front/rear steer, that has: hubs, bearings, gearbox, and motor mounts. The rest I'll take care of. I'd consider building my own entirely, but I want to buy a complete set to familiarize myself with the general construction of r/c axles before I dive in.

Expect more questions, about esc/motor setups as well, I was a nitro guy before this lol.

I'll be sure to post plenty of pics of the build. I have quite a bit of carbon fiber I've been meaning to use up so might as well turn it into an r/c .

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Jerry
Jerry3567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-16-2010, 02:14 PM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Probably your best bet would be to contact RC4WD about two of their Super Bully axles: http://www.rc4wdshop.com/go/product_...roducts_id=669 Maybe they can leave the tubes unfinished for you.
JeremyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 03:33 PM   #3

Jeremy,

Thanks for the reply! That is the style I am looking for. I actually like their setup, and might just use their finished product and make my own link mounts. Thanks for such a quick reply.

Jerry
Old 05-16-2010, 03:42 PM   #4
I wanna be Dave

Not a problem. Good luck with your build!
Old 05-16-2010, 03:59 PM   #5

Thanks. I'm getting pretty excited about this. So much so, that my motorcycle is now on craigslist. That should let me go all out with whatever stock and tooling I need for the project lol.
Old 05-16-2010, 08:23 PM   #6