Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: A NEWB'S COMP Season Series Experience

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2010, 04:13 PM   #1
Rock Crawler

Default A NEWB'S COMP Season Series Experience

A NEWB'S COMP Season Series Experience, Yes I'm still a newb, but a learning one. Wasn't sure if this goes here or the chit chat section.

Ok, my local club just finished up our series last week, and what a great series it was. SDRCRC club didn't disappoint, we added a new location to our area, and had different podium finishers. It was a learning experience.

This is my 3rd year with the club, and my first full season running my Berg, so from an AX10 with no dig to a Berg with front and rear dig, I now have experienced the crawler scene and I'm here to compete.

I've learned that set-ups, and practice are key to feeling confident about your rig and how it will handle. and why I say this is because I have gone through TO MANY CHANGES with my crawler for this past season. The first 2 comps are the only 2 that my set-up was the same. For the rest of the season I was fighting with a different set-up for each comp, and at the end of every comp I wanted to QUIT, man what a learning experience.

Nice to have guys in the club who are willing to help or give good advice, thanks guys. But wait a minute, I want to be the best RC Crawler in the world, I don't have time to quit. smok'em if you got'em..

Set-up at 1st/2nd Comp: WOHLFORD/ EL MONTE PARK
berg v1 axles
downtown chassis/links
losi 4" shocks - white springs 45 oil
mechanical dig switch
2 45T lathe motors
mayhem's double fatties - loaded all ball bearings in each wheel, 2 aluminum front/delrin rear
rovers with proline memory foams
novak rooster
2 cell lipo
hi-tec 645 servo
traxxas TQ3 mod 3 position switch
proline decender body
September 12th Lake Wohlford (northside) PLACED 22/28
October 10th El Monte Park PLACED 17/19

Set-up at 3 comp: BARONA
berg v1 axles