Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Ultimate competition kit?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2010, 09:22 PM   #1
Pebble Pounder

Default Ultimate competition kit?

I want to build out a full kit that is competition-worthy. Price isn't really an issue. Excluding the upcoming XR10, what is the best kit to go with? What motor, ESC, servo, batts, and tires do _you_ think are the best? And please let me know what hop-ups are worth doing.

I have a lot of RC experience but I'm new to crawling...
mdowney is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 07-08-2010, 09:36 PM   #2
www.team3sixrc.com

Open question, so because your a newbie I will give you a break.
1. comp crawler or scaler?
2. if your going comp do you want to be a shafty or MOA (motor on axle)
3. if your going scaler do you want Tuber or chassis built design
4. for either do you want 1.9, 2.2, or super
5. do you want EVERYTHING youll need, or just the truck and electronics to run it?
6. and how much do you want to spend
and finally, prepare for an onslaught of newbies, beginner's, and pros giving up their advice. because everyone has their own preference.

Moving forward. I personally would choose to start with the Axial Honcho for a scaler, the XR10 for the MOA, and the AX10 for the shafty.
All can easily be modified and are excellent starters out of the box and are proven chassis and parts. for radio gear I would choose spektrum DX3R because it works and is easy to program. Charger would be a Hyperion, Batteries would be Turnigy, Motors and ESC's would be one of several.
ESC combo: Tekin 35T handwound kit
ESC: Tekin FXR or Holmeshobbies BR XL
Motor: Holmes Hobbies, JP Customs, or Team brood
BEC: Castle creations or Common Sense
Tires: Thats a long road of tires to choose from.
thats my advice
team3six is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2010, 09:36 PM   #3
Got Worms?