Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: 2.2 or superclass

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2010, 10:05 AM   #1

Default 2.2 or superclass

hello everyone,

i am a new newb to the whole rc crawling community but i am very interested in getting into it but my main problem is what class to shoot for a 2.2 or superclass first

can someone help me with this alittle pros and cons might help me out here,please help me.
thanks
futang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 10-02-2010, 11:05 AM   #2
Rock Stacker

Well if you wish to compete, the most comon class around here (Atlanta, Georgia) is the 2.2
this way you have lots of other trucks to play (compete) with.
Personaly, I started with a super class crawler complete with rear wheel steering and I am glad I did.
However if I wanted to compete, there are few Super crawlers in my area.
Keep in mind a super class crawler is EXACTLY that....is will crawl like crazy and traverse some huge bolders the 2.2 class can't.

Come to think about it, my crawler is actually bigger than a super, supers are restricted to 18" wheel base mine is 22.5" wheelbase so
I think it is called an "unlimited" class crawler.
anyway I am very pleased with the performance of my 1/5 scale "Killer Krawller"

Harrry
Old Sloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:27 AM   #3
Rock Crawler

i would start with a 2.2 because to be competitive the 2.2 will be cheaper. also the super courses are really effin hard and to a newb it might get discouraging.
jamesdicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2010, 11:34 AM   #4

thanks for the info sloppy ecspecially the wheelbase for sure,this helpes out alot. i was thinking about a 1/8th redcat for the superclass and leaning more toward a berg for the 2.2 class
Old 10-02-2010, 11:35 AM   #5
Rock Crawler

Quote:
Originally Posted by futang1 View Post