Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Help with brushless motor choice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2011, 02:02 PM   #1

Question Help with brushless motor choice

Hey guys, I have an ax10 with a Mamba 25, ccbec, 11.11300mAh lipo. I also have a castlelink. My rig also has a lcg front mount battery plate locked axles and no slipper. I really need help on a motor choice, I dont plan on competing though I want a capable rig with more power than the stock electronics can give me. I like to go to the coast and crawl on the jetty rocks and am really starting to get into this new form of rc. I am not a newb to rc, I raced 1/10th scale gas trucks and boats for quite a while. Do I want a HH Revolver? DO i want a low kv rating? any and all input would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!
ORLANDOCRAWLER
orlandocrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-23-2011, 02:08 PM   #2
Suck it up!

Brushless non-sensored crawler motors aren't all that fantastic, even with a low kv rating. The start up isn't very smooth, and can at times stall.

I'd go with a good brushed motor. Handwound is best, though if you're going to bomb through mud or sand, I'd stick with a cheaper motor.
Duuuuuuuude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 02:19 PM   #3

Default mamba25 with brushed motor?

can my mamba25 run a brushed motor?
Old 01-23-2011, 02:33 PM   #4
Suck it up!

Nope (had to go look at Castles site...).

So I guess your choices are either run brushless (the Revolver is a great choice) or pick up a different esc that will let you run brushed.
Old 01-23-2011, 07:32 PM   #5

Default hey johnrobholmes any help?

I think this is a relevant question. I've been lurking here for quite a while. Any input would be quite appreciated!
Old 01-23-2011, 08:07 PM   #6
RCC Addict

id just say, look for a used Brushed ESC, then buy like a rc4wd brushed motor if your on a budget..