Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Scaler newb seeks electronics advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 08:30 AM   #1

Default Scaler newb seeks electronics advice

Hi folks,

I am new to the scene. I'm a 20 year RC vet...past 10 have been nitro 1/8 buggy and truggy. Recently I picked up a brand new RC4WD Subzero for a very low price. I do not intend on doing any major rock crawling, mainly trail riding around/over some obstacles on my property.

So...obviously I need to purchase an ESC, motor, servo, and battery.

1. Servo - for the size/weight of the subzero, would it be recommended to use an ultra torque digital servo? 6v with 200+ oz of torque or is that overkill even for my application?

2. ESC/Motor - I've read quite a bit back and forth regarding brushed vs brushless. Being a nitro guy, I don't want to work on brushed motors so I'm leaning heavily towards the Novak Goat 3S 18.5 system. Knowing the Subzero weighs more than my 1/8 truggy...is the Goat 3S/18.5 setup going to provide low maintenance, easy setup, and still perform well? If it was you in my shoes...what would you install into the Subzero?

3. Battery - obviously if I go the Goat 3S route, I'd look to either a 3S lipo pack. Don't laugh...but my experience with LiPo is limited to one pack which I use for my receiver, radio, and my SC18. It's a 2S 2300 8C pack, I have 5 of them. I'm considering the Protek 3S/11.1v/2100/25C pack for $37.

Thanks in advance. I look forward to contributing to this site as I gain experience in this new class.

Regards,
Scott
scraps is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 01-27-2011, 08:56 AM   #2
Debunking old stereotypes

First, welcome to RCC!!!!

I would say a 200 oz in servo isn't overkill at all.