Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Which way to go?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 12:18 PM   #1
Rock Stacker

Default Which way to go?

OK, so I am fairly new to the whole crawling scene and been trying to read alot about which way to go with a vehicle. AX10, MOA, cheap, exspensive.....
I just want to get something I can play with now, and use in comp later as
I upgrade it (and do well in comp) for around 300.00.

Any ideas?
DawgBones is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 02-18-2011, 01:02 PM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I would say to either go with an ax-10 or a Losi night crawler. The xr 10 seems like it would be a little out of budget since it's a kit that does not come with any electronics. Not to mention you would have to buy 2 motors instead of one like the ax-10 and nightcrawler. Obviously the xr-10 is going to be a lot more of a comp rig, but if u are just starting out and just want to have fun, the ax-10 and nightcrawler would be plenty fun. My buddy has a losi nc which seems to do great with only tires and a different servo from stock. I don't know how anyone else feels about the nightcrawler but I think it is pretty solid out of the box. It just needs a few goodies and it does really well. The axle design on the losi nc is pretty cool too with worm drive gears in the axle instead of a ring and pinion set up like on my ax-10. The worm drive design acts as a brake when no power is supplied and has a lot less torque twist. My vote would go towards a night crawler, hope this helps, I'm sure more people will chine in soon with more info.
Chevdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:42 PM   #3
Quarry Creeper

the rtc axial is pretty capable out of the box. Tons of upgrades available too
ax10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 01:45 PM   #4
RCC Addict

X2, start lower, work higher.