Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: Scx10 Kit Build

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2011, 07:18 AM   #1

Default Scx10 Kit Build

Hey, Just wanted a little help choosing what electronics to buy for a scx10 kit. I need a motor, esc, servo, battery, radio, and transmitter. I want to make a scale crawler that looks and feels realistic. Id like a lipo battery and if its possible Id like to be able to have it crawl realistic then change the gear to make it decently fast as well. as for the servo, radio. and transmitter I don't have any idea what to choose.

Any suggestions? Thanks
JohnyBeGood is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 06-25-2011, 08:15 AM   #2
Pebble Pounder

I'm no expert but here's my take. There's some good stuff to be had if you order it out of the US, but usually shipping is a fortune unless you can get it shipped USPS. I've usually stuck with stuff that the local shops can get in.

I'm partial to spektrum stuff because it was readily available. I like it though, easy to set-up, I can use any of the receivers with my trucks or my son's. I have a DX3R and I just picked up a DX3C for my son. How many channels do you think you'll use? Throttle, steering, winch, lights ...... I went for 3 because I wanted the 3rd channel for a dig. I didn't plan on getting a winch or controlling lights. Futaba also looks really nice but I've never used one. They have a 4 channel which looks pretty sweet.

As for speed controllers, if you're going to stick with 2S I'd go for a tekin. They are small and work well. I had thought about using the FXR with a 35 turn motor and finding a smaller spur gear to keep the speed the same as the stock 27 turn, but have a rebuildable motor. You could go brushless Castle creations MMP or Tekin RS. I think it depends how waterproof you want to be. Hopefully someone else can comment on which would be better (brushed/brushless) for waterproofing.