Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: First Must have upgrades for RTR Axial Honcho

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 05:24 PM   #1

Question First Must have upgrades for RTR Axial Honcho

I just ordered my first Rc crawler and it should be arriving on thursday. It is a RTR Axial Honcho. Im wanting to know what are some of the first upgrades I should do. Im not trying to comp crawler. Im really about the scale look. Just want some advice since im new to the crawling game. Thanks
BIGMAX is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 08-08-2011, 05:27 PM   #2
RCC Addict

start with the tranny gears, c-hubs , knuckles. go into he SCX10 section theres alot of free upgrades also.
research is your friend
crawlhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 05:34 PM   #3

Yeah i have been doing lots of looking around on forums. I just Havent seen anything bout the first must have upgrades. Ill check into the tranny gears and C-hubs. Thanks for your Help!
Old 08-08-2011, 05:56 PM   #4
I joined the Band!

the biggest MUST it mips metal drive shafts! that is the biggest MUST have! if not youll shread plastic after plastic
crawlinnTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:41 PM   #5

I have heard that. Thanks I will pick those up now. Is it a must to update my esc to one with a drag brake? And can the stock esc run a 2cell lipo? Thanks
Old 08-08-2011, 07:48 PM   #6
RCC Addict

Upgrade what breaks for you. There are no must haves, different people tend to break different things. I have never had an issue with c-hubs or knuckles in 2.5 years of owning an SCX. The first thing for me was the shafts, then it moved to the tranny gears, then to the front diff gear, then to the spur gear.

Some people run stock RTR SCX's with no issues. It just all depends on the owner, their driving style, and terrain.
TexasSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:59 PM   #7
Pebble Pounder