Go Back   RCCrawler Forums > RCCrawler General Tech > Newbie General

Notices

Thread: New Guy Buying Scx-10 "Builder's Kit"

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 12:36 AM   #1

Default New Guy Buying Scx-10 "Builder's Kit"

Hey Guy's! I'm new to the whole "Crawling" environment.I was heading towards the Axial SCX-10 Builders Kit.I wanted to build my truck from ground up so i thought that was a good model to choose from out of the axial products.I watch djmedic2008 on youtube.I don't know if any one else does on this forum or not but he has told me Tekin T55 Motor and ESC is a good choice for electronics and a Hitec 645 servo.Are those good products to run in these trucks?What im bascially going to do is trailing with a buddy of mine.The trails are muddy and some ruff spots here and there.Nothing too crazy.But,about waterproofing i saw a video on how to do it i think i'll just follow that unless anyone knows a good way to do so.Is there anything i should try different in the electronics or should i go the route i'm going?
Barzano.Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-14-2011, 12:49 AM   #2
I wanna be Dave

Welcome to the crawling scene.

Tekin FXR's are good, but if your truck starts to get some weight to it, the ESC might get a bit hot.

I run Mamba Max Pros in all my trucks, its about the same price as Tekin FXR. With the Mamba Max Pros you can run brushed/brushless/sensored/non-sensored MOTORS. Plus the tekin handles 3S lipo ok, but the Mamba Max Pro handles up to 6S lipo. But the Mamba Max Pro is bigger.

Castle Creations 1/10 Mamba Max Pro ESC Smart Sense

As for the servo, the 645mg is a good start.

As for waterproofing, running through any water is going to kill bearing and electronics, you can seal them but they can get hot. My motto, stay out of water....its cheaper on the wallet.

Justin,

Last edited by justinart24; 11-14-2011 at 01:05 AM.
justinart24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 12:52 AM   #3